Ring-Billed Gull

ring billed gull DPB

I really have to remember to do some research online before starting to paint from a book!  While my gull turned out a darker brown then the bird from Drawing and Painting Birds by Shirley Porter, hers didn’t really look much like the colors I see in images on line, either, except perhaps a gull in his first winter.

But he looks like a gull!  I’ll just pretend he is a weird hybrid who rolled around in the mud.  I had fun painting him so that is what matters.

I like his beak and although his legs look a bit too orange they look like feet to me finally – I reworked and reworked them until I was afraid I was going to rip the paper.

This entry was posted in Birds, Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ring-Billed Gull

  1. Cassie says:

    I think regardless if you researched online or not – your picture is great!

    • Wazeau says:

      Thank you! It is so hard to put aside self-judgment and just enjoy playing with color but I told myself if I was going to take up a hobby I was NOT going to let any thoughts of self-criticism get in the way of having fun. I know I’m not a true artist but that didn’t stop me from enjoying my crayons as a child and I won’t let it stop me now!

      • Cassie says:

        You are totally a true artist. I love that image of the bird (I’m a total bird lady so I will love most birds that you paint) but that was really good! I know because I recently bought a bird painting that looked a lot like that.

        And so good for you for not letting that inner-critic out – you go!!

  2. Sallyann says:

    I think your gull likes his picture too, you’ve painted him smiling. 🙂

Leave a comment